[Throwback] I’ll be there in 5 minutes, 5 hours later: “I’ll be there in 5 minutes”

Today, a co-worker/fellow rap enthusiast and I were talking about Kanye while in the midst of putting clothes on shelves and he asked me to play Late Registration. Obviously that’s a request I could never deny.

Before I go any further, Kanye is one of the biggest influences of my life. That being said, it might be seen as blasphemy that Late Registration sits outside of my top three Ye albums (Dropout, MBDTF, and Graduation) but that’s my opinion and you’re entitled to yours. Different albums affect different people based on timing, content, and other factors. That’s why albums like Tha Carter III and Take Care are two of the most important albums during my 23 years on Planet Earth (I’ll address the latter in a post coming in less than two weeks).

Anyway, Late is my favorite track off this album. It’s fun, witty, laid-back, and has great soul-influenced production, all of which are featured in the early works from the artist currently known as Yeezus.

