[Throwback] I’m a monster, everyday is Halloween

If you follow me on Twitter or have known me for a while, you would know that I often wax poetic about Carter III era Weezy. I am captivated by the type of artist Wayne was at that time; his prolificness, lyricism, and his work ethic are a few of the reasons why. I am not exaggerating when I say I’ve watched the Carter documentary about 20 times, if not more. I have to keep finding new streams because it keeps getting taken down but some good samaritan uploads it again as if they know I’m going to be watching it soon. I remember watching it for the first time on MegaUpload (RIP) like it was yesterday.

Personally, the most memorable mixtape from that era is Da Drought 3. This was the project that sold me on Lil Wayne for good and it was this track in particular that really set it off. Every time I listen to this, I feel like that ninth grader with the iPod nano that was discovering DatPiff for the first time.

Nostalgia.

